backyards

By: Lesley

Jan 19 2012

Category: Brantford

21 Comments

Aperture:f/3.4
Focal Length:4.9mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/250 sec
Camera:DMC-TZ3

From the back of this home on Market St in Brantford it looks as if they have desired more and more privacy over the years, extending the original wall to double its length and finally adding a much longer, unpainted, board fence.

Participating in Friday Fences 

Map


21 comments on “backyards”

  1. the wooden fence looks so out of place…love all that brick work!

  2. Wow they look like they could be from some little English town! They look really old.

  3. Very interesting shot. I used to live in a row house like that when I was growing up, complete with tiny, fenced-in yard. I’m glad I live somewhere with some space these days!

  4. The mixture of textures and colours looks so interesting, though!!

  5. What a pretty picture. Privacy is everything!

  6. I guess when you want privacy, anything works! I guess the board fence was less expensive…I prefer the brick! Nice shot – I love these glimpses we get into the world that others see. Thanks for sharing this!

  7. I received a bit of a shock when I opened this post, Lesley. It is so like scenes in the suburb in which I live. All based on the English original, so it seems to me.It is a fence that appears to have served many masters.I love the tones in this photo, too.

  8. isn’t it what we all strive for ‘privacy’. Great contribution to Friday’s Fences

  9. they say “fences are the best neighbors” … great view. (:

  10. Quite an extensive fence there. Thanks for visiting and commenting today!

  11. I love all that wonderful weathered brick

  12. i’d have probably added even more! 🙂

  13. This is a blast from the past for me….I grew up in a row house with a long skinny yard like that! Great shot!

  14. The architecture of this building is certainly intriguing. Wonder why the owners just kept adding sections to the back–an evergrowing family? But then it doesn’t look like the living spaces are connected? And the fences are equally puzzling. The brick doesn’t provide enough privacy so let’s build a board fence that doesn’t go with the house at all? Great subject which raises a lot of speculation. Love your shooting perspective.

  15. It looks sturdy and well built…makes me wonder what they don’t want to see.

  16. I love the character of these old brick houses! Looks like houses I’d expect to see in England.

  17. What an interesting shot. The textures of the bricks with the wooden fence very nice.

  18. What a fine privacy fence. I thought Americans were the only people who built them. I have learned something new tonight. Sorry to be so late commenting. I am running out of time in my days. genie


Leave a Reply

