Rm 12

By: Lesley

Jun 20 2011

Category: Barrie

10 Comments

Aperture:f/3.9
Focal Length:9.7mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/0 sec
Camera:DMC-ZS7

The yellow clapboard Lake Simcoe Motel in Barrie’s east end is only a block from the lake. It has a 1950s feel to it and I was most interested in the doors to the rooms. The curve feature of the windows in two of the doors and the other with the triple banner. But then there is that one new door that is so out of character – wrong colour, wrong material with no windows at all and it doesn’t even open in the same direction. There is a story about room 12 and I’m sure it is not good. I have my doubts about the rest of the motel as well.

Participating in Portes de LundiΒ and Mellow Yellow Monday

10 comments on “Rm 12”

  1. Great shot. Have a fabulous week!

    Liz @ MLC

  2. Hmm, a doubtful motel with a story behind it. A book could be written about that. “The Door that Opened the Wrong Way”!
    The yellow, however, is lovely, and I like the blue-grey doors.
    β€” K

    Kay, Alberta, Canada
    An Unfittie’s Guide to Adventurous Travel

  3. LOL i’m sure there is a story with Room 12 as well. the door was probably forced open [by police, maybe?]. hahaha you got my imagination running. i love the yellow walls though.

  4. Tantalising remark about the room. Interesting note that thought and lack of thought are combined in the same building. Interesting choice of colours.

    Lucy

  5. You are right, it don’t look good! But many older doors and windows designs are no longer to find on the market, the same is a problem with colors!! This motel owner could surely have found a door that would have a better match – too a number sign πŸ˜‰
    Have a great week!

  6. Hmmmm. You’ve definitely got me thinking about this and I’m feeling very unsure about room 12. πŸ™‚

  7. Lovely!

    Mellow Yellow at my page, have a great week!

  8. Nice shot, its got the old world charm and some character.

  9. This looks like the motels we used to stay i when I was a child. I am old enough to remember wench the FIRST motels came into existence. It was such a treat not to stay in hotels. Love the yellow. That is a vintage color, too. Nice postGenie

  10. […] Lake Simcoe Motel, also seen in this post, shows its age in this old sign. I somehow suspect the rooms may be original as well… and […]


Leave a comment