brick study #4

By: Lesley

Apr 29 2012

Category: Niagara-on-the-Lake

6 Comments

Aperture:f/4.7
Focal Length:14.7mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/0 sec
Camera:DMC-TZ3

The sign says it was built circa 1819 so I guess a little bit of settling would not be unusual. Promenade House, on Prideaux St in NOTL, was at one time the Promenade Hotel, though it was originally built as a residence and seems to have return to a private residence.

Participating in Whimsical Windows

Map

6 comments on “brick study #4”

  1. The brick facade offers a reserved elegance to this (now?) residence. Quiet and understated, it looks classic. The flowers under the window break up the brick red color slightly, accenting the 12-over-12 windows. Very nice!

  2. I agree – the simple elegance here is really nice. I don’t know what else is going on around it, but you’ve framed a perfect shot! And the window doesn’t seem at all put out that her hat is a slightly rakish angle 🙂

  3. I like the way the lines of the brick and window complement each other. Very simple and elegant.

  4. I love the slight lean of the lintel. Makes me feel a bit less nervous about a few “leans” in my home. Great shot.

  5. I love seeing old buildings…love that the date is given for all to see…

  6. I ditto all the other comments. Perfect addition to this meme. The flowers add a nice touch as well.


Leave a comment