colourful

By: Lesley

Jul 03 2013

Category: SIGNS, Toronto

15 Comments

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:30mm
ISO:125
Shutter:1/125 sec
Camera:NIKON D60

The colourful Mondrian-esque storefront of Luluemon in Yorkville, Toronto. Unlike many companies, each store is different and reflects the neighbourhood (so I hear, I’ve never been in one myself). Lululemon makes ‘technical athletic clothes for yoga, running, working out, and most other sweaty pursuits’. This 15 year old company has been in the news lately for a few unsavoury reasons, including see-through yoga pants, child labour practices, sudden management departures, class-action lawsuits and even murder. A colourful company indeed.

Participating in signs, signs

map

15 comments on “colourful”

  1. I haven’t seen that store – so cool! I’ll have to do a Yorkville stroll!

  2. Very, very colourful…. but you just talked me out of making a purchase there. 🙂

  3. Colourful signage. That sort of store doesn’t really appeal to me and they probably don’t sell clothes to suit me.

  4. It really attracts attention, nice to see a facade that stands out.

  5. oh they made those see-thru yoga pants? i like the colorful facade.

    photo cache

  6. colorful and cheerful, but sad to hear not so cheerful news about the business

  7. Great shopfront design.

  8. Most colorful in all ways. Like the store front, not sure they have anything I would buy.

  9. Good heavens..murder in a Yoga store? What next! Colorful in more than one way for sure!

  10. There is something pretentious about a store that just uses a logo and not their name.
    Or maybe I’m just jealous because it is not something I can afford or look good in.

  11. Like an abstract art facade! Sounds as if it has a colourful presence!

  12. a fascinating store and fascinating story

  13. For the longest time I didn’t even know what this shop was. You’ll notice the name of the company is not actually on the sign, just that weird logo. I never dared to go in until I learned what it was from a friend at the gym!
    Some of their stuff is nice, but alot of it is too trendy for my taste.

  14. So odd, just after I read this post, one of Amazon’s featured singles was “Murder in the Yoga Store” an article about that very store in the Georgetown, (Washington DC) area. I just started reading it. I don’t usually read true crime, but it was such a coincidence I had to fork over my two bucks for this one.


Leave a Reply

