‘shoppers’

By: Lesley

Feb 14 2013

Category: Dundas, SIGNS

14 Comments

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:18mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/125 sec
Camera:NIKON D60

Sometimes, it’s the mundane that can amuse people from another country. My guests from Europe find the name of this store extremely funny. This particular branch of the nationally known drug store has old photos of the town placed in its fake windows instead of advertising.

Participating in signs, signs

map

14 comments on “‘shoppers’”

  1. Wish you could take photos of the photos…I think that is a great idea.

  2. I like that idea too,Rose. Is the entrance at the side? It looks so different from drugstores around here.

  3. I can see how people would be amused by this.

  4. I like the idea of the old town photos in fake windows. Yes, as Nonnie says, looks very different from our drug stores.

  5. Nice to have those pics in the windows. Thanks so much for hosting us Lesley. it must be more pressure on you to have 2 pics and make sure you have done the link! Thanks again!!

  6. This is my town. The pics are a bid to keep old-school Dundas people happy. The town existed, relatively unchanged, for a good, long time (the house I grew up in is still known to locals by the name of the previous owners, and that was over 25 years ago), and then alot of change seemed to happen all of a sudden. Part of the change is a new super-style Shoppers on an otherwise relatively historic main street, and it received alot of opposition pre-and during-construction. I think the vintage photos were put there to soothe the wounded locals, who have accepted the new building but don’t much like it.

    • I was very much alarmed when Starbucks moved in.

      • So was I, until I chatted with a nearby independent coffee shop owner (I highly recommend Domestique, next time you’re in town), and he wasn’t worried. From what I’ve seen, the people who go to Starbucks are pretty much limited to the Toronto commuters, and the rest of us go to the independents or Tim’s. I’m hoping Dundas can stand up to the Starbucks hegemony, but only time will tell. Every time I go to Domestique, it’s busy, and that’s a good sign.

  7. I see the humor! Like the gas stations in the states called, “Kum and Go”! Seriously?

    Fake windows? Huh.

  8. i think the fake windows serve the purpose.:p it’s a thoughtful way to keep the old spirit alive.

  9. i love those fake windows with the old scenes!

  10. We have a museum on the peninsula that fills its real windows with old views of the building! I think its a wonderful addition to the atmosphere of the streetscape!

  11. Oh, I like those pictures in the windows quite a bit – very charming!
    And I can certainly find the humor in that name – nothing like living overseas to give you a new perspective on the English language 🙂


Leave a Reply

