googie

By: Lesley

Jan 31 2013

Category: SIGNS, Toronto

13 Comments

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:18mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/200 sec
Camera:NIKON D60

This metro grocery store is almost a sign in itself of a modest form of modern architecture from the 1950s known as googie. It is famous for its curves and geometric design. Think of the atomic age. This particular store opened in 1958 on Ellesmere Ave in Scarborough and was granted a historical designation in 2009.

Participating in signs, signs

map

13 comments on “googie”

  1. I lived along there many years ago. Great building.

  2. I like to call it “rainbow style”! Nice one. 🙂

  3. There is another one in Mississauga you can see from the QE. I’ve always loved the style.

  4. Impressive, the design as well as the age of the building. And I’m sure it is huge inside.

  5. The old Safeway grocery stores used to use this architecture back in the 1960s. If it’s “Metro” it must carry everything one would find in a city. Interesting.

  6. yes, there was a grocery store (not out of business) near our area that looked like this.

  7. It looks very modern to have opened in 1958! I’m impressed!

  8. i like it, too…reminds me of a church where my cousin got married in last year.:p

  9. Love how the architectural design and sign complement each other! Effective advertising!

  10. Impressive! Even your grocery stores there have nice architectural designs.

  11. that’s a cool looking grocery store!

  12. Love the store and yes the whole thing pretty much is a sign. But oh my gosh, I’m a big supporter of historical designations and all that, but d&*n, I hate when stuff much younger than I am is so designated ;>)


Leave a Reply

