Patterson House

By: Lesley

Jan 14 2013

Category: Oakville

8 Comments

Aperture:f/6.3
Focal Length:27mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/160 sec
Camera:NIKON D60

This house on Navy Street in Oakville was built out of wood and covered in brick in the 1880s after the original owner, David Patterson, passed on. Mr Patterson was a carpenter and shipbuilder and built his house close to the water and the piers around 1835. The current owners have generously accentuated the symmetry by placing wreaths in each of the nine windows and the door.

Participating in Whimsical Windows and Delirious Doors

map

8 comments on “Patterson House”

  1. That is a fine home, built in a day of solid construction – its classy style reinforced with the addition of brick. I think that this style in the US is referred to as ‘Federalist’ – this was the home of an important person in town in the day. The wreaths and landscaping look so right on this beauty. Nice capture!

  2. That’s a lovely house with beautiful windows and doors!

  3. Wow, that is very stately! I’m completely impressed, and glad to see that the owners appreciate it for what it is.
    Thanks for thinking of me in the snow – what an honor! I’m surprised that it even made the news…

  4. What a splendidly handsome home! I’ve always been a fan of most brick houses, especially the older ones – they always look so clean, crisp and simple. That front door and large upper window are magnificent, I love the contrasting look of the white windows with the black shutters, and I adore how they decorated with all the wreaths! So, so pretty. I wonder if they had a candle in each window during the holidays?

    A lot of the old homes in the Maine seacoast towns where I lived during high school and college were built by shipbuilders. They built them to last, that’s for sure – and with the addition of the brick, this one should last even longer! It looks loved and well cared for – so nice to see! Thanks for sharing it with us!

  5. I love Georgian houses, and this one is a real beauty. I can never decide if my dream house is one like this or a storybook cottage. As it happens, I live in a 70s raised ranch, which I love for the interior but wish the exterior looked a little prettier. Thanks for sharing!

  6. How festive to have a wreath in each window and the door too. I like the color combinations of the house too.

  7. Wow, that is a beauty…and I love all the wreaths.


Leave a Reply

