mismatched

By: Lesley

Nov 11 2011

Category: Oakville

20 Comments

Aperture:f/3.3
Focal Length:4.6mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/320 sec
Camera:DMC-TZ3

The sign on the house says it was built in 1857. I imagine there was an iron fence at one time that maybe matched the gate but this home-made wooden rail fence seems grossly out of place.

Participating in Friday’s Fences

20 comments on “mismatched”

  1. I agree. It somehow doesn’t fit.

  2. I does look out of place, but what a great fence post.

  3. There’s a fence that would like to be in the country! Nice shot.

  4. it is a conversation piece…nice photo…

  5. The first thing I thought when I saw this was….does the brick, the iron, and that old wood really go together. It is an interesting combination and leaves food for thought. Would love to know the story behind it . Nice shot. genie

  6. Well, I like both styles but would agree, they don’t really go together.

  7. I agree…this fence looks out of place. Looks like the entrance post n rail are pretty new!

  8. that’s a definite mismatch, but unique!

  9. It is a mismatch…I wonder what the story is behind it.

  10. it really IS mismatched & out of place… would look soooo much better out in the country somewhere, but I’m glad you shot & shared it. let’s me know that i’m not the only one out there making poor decor decisions! LoL! =)

  11. I so agree with you about the fence no belonging with that house! I see something that might be a realtor’s sign in front. I wonder if they are trying to sell the place, and if they would get a decent price with that mismaych…

  12. I agree it is out of place. But I see a sign this could be on sale and this fence just to protect the property. Awesome find!

    Fridays Fences

  13. I agree it does not do the house justice. It would look better in the bush. B

  14. I love this fence, and what is behind it. beautiful shot.

  15. Oh, my goodness! You are so right! Do you think they were trying for a split rail? Even that wouldn’t be right with this architecture. Another one of those interesting fences that tells a story.

  16. I’m with you, I’m not feeling the love for that combination. The fence looks out of place. If that house was built in 1857, it’s been very well maintained, the bricks look almost too perfect.

  17. I think, it might just be temporary trying to save some money to replace. an yeah, the wooden fence seems out of place.

  18. «Louis» agrees! That fence doesn’t fit!

  19. Lots of owners, lots of changes! I will be back to catch up on posts when we get settled down for a while. Limited time when we’re on the road!


Leave a Reply

