Port Authority

By: Lesley

Oct 26 2011

Category: Hamilton

18 Comments

Aperture:f/3.4
Focal Length:4.9mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/200 sec
Camera:DMC-TZ3

The administrative offices of The Hamilton Port Authority are in this art deco building on James St North across from the Centennial Pier and Harbour West Marina. Over the front entrance are four friezes showing a progression of water vessels: canoe, tall ship, steamer and tanker.

Participating in signs, signs

18 comments on “Port Authority”

  1. Nice friezes. New public buildings don’t seem to incorporate decoration like that.

  2. Lesley, that’s a cool find. Is it just a coincidence that we both posted something about ships?

  3. You have such gorgeous buildings in your area!

  4. What a beautiful architecture! Love the colors, the design, and the carved tiles.

  5. I love the art deco. The friezes certainly enhance the entrance.
    I like the inside and outside reflections you caught in the windows as well.

  6. I really like the details above the door. We were in Hamilton last weekend, but didn’t get down to the port. I must get back!

  7. It’s wonderful to find these old deco buildings. Nice one!

  8. Wonderful details on this building.

  9. This building remind me of our old buildings in the Philippines. They are beautiful as of this date.

    Signs

  10. An interesting sign incorporating artistic symbols! very impressive!

  11. Those friezes are beautiful! Nice sign shot!

  12. The friezes are a great work of art.

  13. thank you for telling me the name of those that i call plaques, friezes.

  14. This is a wonderful vintage piece of signage which I remember so well. That is the they used to be when I was growing up. It looks so familiar. It is always such fun to have my OLD memory jogged. genie

  15. I’ve never noticed these friezes before! And I forgot to post my sign this week… sigh.

  16. I wonder how many people notice those carvings above the entrance? That is really a nice addition to the building.

  17. I particularly like the stone, the colour and the rounded shape at the entrance. Nice building.


Leave a Reply

