Cinesphere

By: Lesley

Sep 23 2011

Category: Toronto

10 Comments

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:4.1mm
ISO:80
Shutter:1/640 sec
Camera:DMC-ZS7

Continuing with the week of Ontario Place, this summer was your last opportunity to see it before it is torn down and undergoes a complete overhaul. The Cinesphere, now an IMAX 3D theatre, is still a gem and everyone hopes that it will be incorporated into the new design. Another view of the cinesphere was posted here.

Participating in SkyWatch Friday

10 comments on “Cinesphere”

  1. Love that big ball of cloud!

  2. Never heard about Ontario Place until this week but now I’m quite worried about it! I can’t believe they’d tear this amazing structure down. It looks like the perfect place to watch an I-MAX movie — kind of like being in a whole new different world from the moment you see the sphere. (Oh and nice sky too!_)

    • It might not be torn down, we haven’t seen the new plans yet. But after years of not visiting, I can see how tired the whole site has become.

  3. Oh, I hope they don’t tear it down. The cinesphere is a landmark! I like that big puffy cloud, looks like it might have brought a storm along with it.

  4. Oh, I hope it isn’t torn down either! What a remarkable building! Hopefully, it will be updated to as interesting a new building as this one is! And what incredible skies! I love that huge ball of a cloud! Happy SWF, Lesley! Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

    Sylvia

  5. Very nice composition and details in your photo.

    Regards and best wishes

  6. Interesting and lovely architecture.:)

  7. Now I know what is inside of this huge golf ball ^_^

    Peach Sky

  8. I didn’t realize Ontario Place was getting razed… Your good photos will keep it for posterity.

    [I also didn’t realize “Louis” was ending the bridge meme… that’s too bad; I really liked it. Hope someone else can take up the hosting… unfortunately I travel too much.]


Leave a Reply

