dovecote

By: Lesley

Sep 16 2011

Category: Hamilton

16 Comments

Aperture:f/4.7
Focal Length:18.4mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/640 sec
Camera:DMC-TZ3

This dovecote, at Dundurn Castle, is a bit of a mystery. No one is certain if it was actually used to house pigeons or doves, or was merely an affectation that Sir Allan McNab had built as an outdated status symbol. Rare in North America, dovecotes were popular in aristocratic homes in Scotland in the 18th century but Dundurn was built in 1832, long after they had fallen out of favour. No pigeons seem to be sunning themselves here on this blue sky day.

Participating in Thursday Things in a Row and SkyWatch Friday

16 comments on “dovecote”

  1. I have never seen anything like that! That is so cool! Thanks for sharing this!

  2. Wow if I had not read your post I would say it’s a pigeons house. Great find thanks for sharing.

    SWF

  3. Interesting, I wonder why there are no pigeons.

  4. Interesting bit of history — I’ve seen the word somewhere (probably in a historical fiction book) but that’s not exactly what I would have guessed it meant. Your guess that it was an outdated affectation seems to me like it’s probably true. I wonder if the people in Scotland wanted the doves to roost there so they could hunt them or what? Seems like it would have been quite messy, but I guess they had people for that (to clean up).

  5. Terrific shot. The history on the building was very interesting. Maybe the builder just had a fondness for look. Thanks for visiting my blog and commenting.

  6. They certainly look like birdhouses of some sort, if not actually dovecotes. Maybe it’s the time of year? No September nesting in Ontario. But you did say no one knows why they were built. A mystery for sure, but very pretty.
    — K

    Kay, Alberta, Canada
    An Unfittie’s Guide to Adventurous Travel

  7. Intriguing and your capture is great!

  8. I really like these details. I have never seen anything like this before.

  9. So pretty.

    Please come see my Skywatch

  10. Very good and nice composition.

    Regards and best wishes

  11. beautiful photo, such an excellent composition ♥

  12. How fascinating, Lesley! I’ve seen pigeonaires before, but never a whole condominium like this! Had to look it up and there is interesting history associated with these structures and the various reasons for wanting to house domesticated pigeons, and not only in Scotland.

  13. I wondered what these were…I have never seen anything like them. Learn something new every day in blogging.


Leave a Reply

