cinesphere

By: Lesley

Aug 31 2011

Category: Toronto

10 Comments

Aperture:f/5
Focal Length:7.3mm
ISO:125
Shutter:1/400 sec
Camera:DMC-ZS7

The Cinesphere at Ontario Place. Built in 1971, it is the world’s first permanent IMAX movie theatre. It is a spherical triodetic dome, which is an ingenious method of joining materials replacing welding, bolting or riveting, developed by a Canadian firm of F.Fentiman and Sons Ltd according to a site on spacioal and steel structures. It is similar to a geodesic dome. Either way, it is a fine sight as it sits reflected in the waters of Lake Ontario.

Participating in Watery Wednesday

10 comments on “cinesphere”

  1. incredible. must be a total movie experience if you go there to see a blockbuster. i really like your composition here.

  2. This dome does leave a lovely impression in the water. Must be wonderful on the inside with what I assume is a large circular ceiling. In some ways it reminds me of the Planetarium in Vancouver. 🙂

  3. I can’t watch IMAX, it gives me a headache. But your photo is great, the reflection in the water WOW!!

  4. What an incredible shot!! I love it. I have been meaning to go down there all summer but life seems to always get in the way and now I really wish I had. Just lovely Lesley!

  5. Wow, its almost like a smaller version of EPCOT. Beautiful reflection too. I have been watching IMAX because my daughter drags me, and I enjoy it,

  6. fascinating design. great composition. i love watching movies at IMAX.:p

  7. I thought at first we were at the Epcot Center in Disney World!
    Great shot and nice reflections. 🙂

  8. This amazing structure makes a wonderful subject which you’ve shown very well. Nice work.

  9. […] Continuing with the week of Ontario Place, this summer was your last opportunity to see it before it is torn down and undergoes a complete overhaul. The Cinesphere, now an IMAX 3D theatre, is still a gem and everyone hopes that it will be incorporated into the new design. Another view of the cinesphere was posted here. […]

  10. Very beautiful, lovely reflection.


Leave a Reply

