Lake Simcoe Motel

By: Lesley

Jun 23 2011

Category: Barrie, SIGNS

13 Comments

Aperture:f/4.3
Focal Length:15.8mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/50 sec
Camera:DMC-ZS7

The Lake Simcoe Motel, also seen in this post, shows its age in this old sign. I somehow suspect the rooms may be original as well… and then there are those bullet looking holes which seem a bit odd. I wonder if, at one time, there was a neon sign attached.

Participating in signs, signs

13 comments on “Lake Simcoe Motel”

  1. I’m pretty sure you hit the nail on the head – this used to be neon. Imagine how cool that would look today!

  2. Those holes are strange, you are probably right about a neon sign.

  3. I used to live in Barrie and remember this motel. Don’t remember any neon when I was there 12 years ago. I also can’t imagine anyone actually staying there!

  4. I love these old motel signs – they would make for an interesting book!

  5. I love those old motel signs too.

  6. The looks of this sign take me back to the 60’s…Nice shot!

  7. This looks like a hotel straight out of a Stephen King novel or an Alfred Hitchcock movie!

  8. Your commentary builds the sense there is something sinister about this motel. I’m not sure whether to think there is or whether you are creating a sinister illusion. Interesting!

    Esther

  9. This photo reminds me of road trips through Ontario as a teenager…I loved that all the motels had pools, after a hot day in the car…LOL!

  10. or a gunslinger used the sign as target practice.:p
    great composition.

  11. Before reading your narrative, I was going to say the motel sign looks much older than the motel… and it has more charm…

  12. I love this old sign! – I’m in agreement that the word “Motel” probably used to have neon enhancement at night.


Leave a Reply

