black barn

By: Lesley

May 31 2011

Category: barns, Grey-Bruce

10 Comments

Aperture:f/6.3
Focal Length:29.9mm
ISO:80
Shutter:1/800 sec
Camera:DMC-ZS7

A black barn, somewhere on Hwy 6. The colour version is not much different, but the snow from the winter scene shows up less vibrantly in this view and we don’t want to think about those days past  (because summer is coming to these parts tomorrow, with heat and humidity!)

Participating in Barn Charm

10 comments on “black barn”

  1. This is definitely a color I’ve never seen on a barn before! But why not?? This is a most interesting structure, and your photograph shows it off well.

  2. I love it! That one little lone window in the end looks so lonely….like it doesn’t have a friend in the world.

  3. It’s my first to see a black barn. Looks classic.

    Small Barn

  4. Thanks for stopping by. I can’t say that I’ve seen too many black barns. Very neat.

  5. Gorgeous shot!

    Please come see my Blue thanks.

  6. Lately I’ve noticed we have quite a few black barns in Ontario. I’m beginning to think barns come in EVERY colour…which I never noticed until I began photographing the
    . 🙂

  7. That black really makes this barn stand out!!! Getting to see lots of colorerd barns this week! Great shot!

  8. I was driving some back roads last week & found a black barn, too… I couldn’t believe my eyes & couldn’t grab my camera fast enough! heheheee
    The one I found was no where near as big as this one, but the black sure threw me for a loop! =)

    Thanks so much for joining Barn Charm… sorry bout the heat & humidity you’ll be getting… I don’t like it either! 😉

  9. I have not seen a black barn before either. There definitely have been a few barns featured that are first for me. I’m with Rose, that window does look lonely.

  10. In Kentucky barns have often been painted black because they attract the heat needed to dry out tobacco leaves. Did Ontario farmers ever grow tobacco.

    Just asking—I’m from BC.


Leave a Reply

