old PO

By: Lesley

May 03 2011

Category: Oakville

21 Comments

Aperture:f/3.3
Focal Length:4.6mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/30 sec
Camera:DMC-TZ3

The doorway to Oakville’s first post office with fading red paint. Built in 1835, the building was moved to Lakeside Park in the early 1950s, where it became Oakville’s first museum. (yes, that is a spider web!) It is currently undergoing a restoration to be unveiled this summer.

Participating in My World Tuesday and Rednesday

21 comments on “old PO”

  1. What lovely wood! A gorgeous shot.. and you even managed to capture that huge spider’s thread!

  2. The post office is almost becoming a thing of the past. Are you aware that the postal workers have voted to go on strike?

  3. I also like taking photos of post offices and mailboxes, especially when I go overseas. This building has so much history and character in it.

  4. Lesley, your captures of the weathered wood are wonderfully alive. I, too, am shocked and in some cases saddened by the election results.

  5. I think it’s wonderful that so many towns in Southern Ontario are building small museums to house their heritage buildings.

  6. What a great entryway!

  7. Fabulous photo, Lesley!
    — K

    Kay, Alberta, Canada
    An Unfittie’s Guide to Adventurous Travel

  8. Wonderful photo…I would love to see all of it.

  9. I hope all of that charm doesn’t get lost in the restoration. It’s beautiful just the way it is!
    Happy REDnesday,
    Carol

  10. What a interesting and vintage building. I love seeing them and learning the history of them.Love your post.

  11. I love your old post office. It is my type of old architectural photo. And the fading blue paint on the red is perfect. About my move from Florida to Virginia….I continue to be in a state of shock when the shows hit and we have to endure months of cold weather. I miss Florida, but on the other hand the change of seasons we have here is a special treat. I have adjusted, but really enjoy seeing the posts from the bloggers who live sown there. Thanks for your visits.

  12. This is my kind of Post Office. Love it!

  13. Interesting entry for Rednesday.

  14. just been having a joke about post offices, I sent some items to USA. Canada and Malaysia.

    My friends in USA received them, but not those in Malaysia and Australia.

    My daughter is a solicitor and barrister. I think she has enough studies.

  15. Very pretty! I was just at a party in Oakville this past weekend. It looks like a really nice place. I sometimes wish we could live on that side of the lake. 🙂

  16. What a beautiful old building!

  17. That looks like a great building! Love old wood!

  18. That spiderweb tells me there’s not a whole lot “on-going” but nice that it is planned. Good shot, Lesley!


Leave a Reply

