split rail

By: Lesley

Apr 26 2011

Category: barns, Grey-Bruce

29 Comments

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:10.3mm
ISO:80
Shutter:1/640 sec
Camera:DMC-ZS7

I was just as taken with the split rail fence as with the open airy barn found in Bruce County.

Participating in Barn Charm

29 comments on “split rail”

  1. I love it. It’s in better shape than the buildings I saw last weekend!

  2. I love this! The shape of the barn, the stone foundation, the split rail fence all add up to a great shot!

  3. LOVE your leading lines right up to that awesome barn! Very yummy!

  4. So many textures and great depth. Love the split rail fence!

  5. well done! love the foundation.

  6. I love this one, and the angle you took this shot….Love the fence!

  7. Gorgeous!

    Please come and see my yellow, have a great week!!

  8. I come to really love a nice split rail fence like that one and you don’t see them much our way any more. Nice capture!

  9. Wonderful composition and color in this shot. I can feel like I’m there.

  10. This is quite a contrast to the modern architecture you often show us. The fecnce is still quite functional but I’m not so sure about the barn.

  11. Hiya Lesley,
    I’m not surprised: that rail is a work of art, as is your photograph.
    The snow and blue sky complement the old wood to perfection.

  12. That’s a wonderful looking fence leading us to the old barn. Nice post.

  13. Nice pic, I love the composition and I agree the fence is as attractive as the barn. It doesn’t look like the barn is long for this world.

  14. great photo!! the grey of the barn and blue of the sky go so well together! i have a thing for split rail fencing too!

  15. I love this picture. It is strong and quiet

  16. This is awesome!! I still saw fences like that here in my area but not much. As the barn fall down goes with the fence too. Great shot!

    Barn Charm

  17. A wonderful stone foundation for a faded beauty. Lovely pic!

  18. Great composition…love that old fence as well as the barn…lots of charm here!

  19. Super shot Lesley! Love it.

  20. I love the fence; I love the barn! What a charming barm meme contribution!
    Lovely artsy photo!
    Warm regards from EAGAN daily photo in Minnesota

  21. Hi – what a great photo – it reminds me of some barns I saw in Ohio – same sort of weather as well. Some how the mixture of buildings, snow and blue sky is always good.

    Thanks for visiting my photo blog : you may also find my more wordy blog of interest – you can find it at the link above.

    Cheers Stewart M

  22. Great photo. Aren’t abandoned buildings fascinating, much more so than ones in active use? I think it’s the sense of mystery that you don’t get with the more mundane day to day activities in the picture.

    PS I’m always discovering new memes as I visit blogs, and Barn Charm would only work for someone who sees far more barns than I do. But I’m going to look for it because I love old barns!

  23. Love this photo. Great composition.

  24. I am caught up by the split rail fence, too. It is so rustic and old. The missing boards from the barn make it so vintage looking. These are the kinds of shots I would find here in my country…old, not in the best of shape, but quite usable just the same. The stoma foundation is fine!

  25. While I enjoy seeing barns like these it also saddens me to know that if something isn’t done soon the old place will just disappear one day.

  26. I like that split rail fence, too…and I love that rock foundation of the barn.

  27. That IS BEAUTIFUL, especially w/ that blue sky background & I LOVE the rock/stone foundation!!! =)

    I have to apologize for taking so long to visit everyone’s Barn Charm entries… the flood situation in this area has me out shooting the scenery! =0

  28. This is an amazing barn. I Ontario I assume. Always a barn to find in Ontario. Just beautiful. B


Leave a Reply

