Opera House

By: Lesley

Feb 15 2011

Category: Orillia

9 Comments

Aperture:f/4.2
Focal Length:8.2mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/640 sec
Camera:DMC-TZ3

There were blue skies over the Orillia Opera House last summer when I took this. Yes, it says City Hall on the facade, but that was put in place even long before Orillia became a city. This historic Romanesque building was used as municipal offices but it is currently used as a theatre and has always been known as the Opera House. It is currently undergoing renovations to upgrade the facilities, but the outside will remain the same.

Participating in My World Tuesday

9 comments on “Opera House”

  1. We HAVE to explore Canada. My new goal in life!

  2. Marvelous capture and interesting history! I’ve always enjoyed so much the time I’ve been able to spend in Canada!! Hope you have a wonderful week!

    Sylvia

  3. I like brick buildings. Hoping to see the full frontal facade of this one.

    http://calrat.blogspot.com

  4. I’m glad the facade will remain the same, it would be a shame to change it.
    — K

    Kay, Alberta
    An Unfittie’s Guide to Adventurous Travel

  5. I think this building lends itself well for Theater and Opera with its tower it has a certain ambiance.

  6. Orillia had a city hall before it was a city? That’s either presumptuous or confidence! 😀 I bet the building as an opera house will great when it has it’s old exterior and modern interior.

  7. Fantastic picture The opera has a gorgeous tower. Interesting information too

  8. Canadian architecture always fascinates me. It seems to remind me of books, cats, tea, and culture.

  9. What an incredibly beautiful building, and I enjoyed learning the history of it!
    Happy REDnesday!
    Carol


Leave a Reply

