Royal York

By: Lesley

Jan 25 2011

Category: Toronto

17 Comments

Aperture:f/4.2
Focal Length:8.2mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/800 sec
Camera:DMC-TZ3

Since 1929, the Royal York Hotel in Toronto has been recognized as the premier hotel of old world elegance in the city. It is the third hotel to sit on this location across from Union Station and was for years the defining landmark on the skyline. It has been dwarfed by several of the newer banking towers, including the elegant black Mies van der Rohe TD Centre.

Participating in My World Tuesday

and don’t forget to join in and share a sign you’ve found on signs signs tomorrow…

17 comments on “Royal York”

  1. Must have housed at one time or another the world’s who’s who.

    Impressive facade.

    http://calrat.blogspot.com

  2. I’m sure the Queen doesn’t pay any attention to the taller buildings. They would be beneath her, if you’ll pardon the pun. (I’m a monarchist, actually, but I couldn’t help myself.)
    — K

    Kay, Alberta
    An Unfittie’s Guide to Adventurous Travel

  3. I was there once on business when I saw Colonel Sanders. He was in the main lobby surround by his staff. With his white suit he looked exactly as he was in the commercials. That’s one of my memories of the Royal York.
    Your photo has done justices to the old gal.

  4. What a fabulous photo of a familiar site, Lesley! It’s probably been a decade or more since I last saw the Royal York, but I hope to see it again sometime this year.

    [The pink steamed buns on my blog LOOK sweet, but are amazingly not so. They are usually served white, and I have no idea, nor do I want to know, how he makes them pink for the new year holiday period. :-D]

  5. Thanks for the memories — had one wonderful stay at the Royal York many years ago when one could still take a train from Kalamazoo to Toronto.

  6. Thanks for your kind comment Lesley
    wonderful contrast in your foto glass and stone, wel composed

  7. Great photo and building, it certainly is dwarfed by the newer buildings.

  8. I don’t know why they always built such ugly glass towers around nice old buildings ! It’s a shame to see when you love architecture !
    In Brussels too they have demolished so many beautiful buildings from the 18th century and built these glass boxes instead !

  9. and I have a GREAT sign this week

  10. I like the the building top and the contrast to all the others.

  11. Does that not make you want to put on your white gloves and hat before you go into that bank? Wonderful lbuilding.

  12. lesley: I thought you have a sign meme. I was going to participate tomorrow but can’t find the original info you sent. Surely it wasn’t a different lesley. Let me know if you can.

    Ontario is such a clean, strong looking city and your photo supports that image!

    Jan
    GDP

  13. Hi, Leslie!

    I hooked into Signs, Signs but could not leave a comment, unfortunately. The embedded comment format doesn’t allow me to, for some reason.

    Nevertheless, I wanted to tell you what a great shot yo posted for the meme. It’s so dominant in blues. Good work!

    I’m a little late but I’m playing this week! Looks like a good turn-out!

  14. Never been there, so no memories for me, but the contrast between the Royal York and its surrounding modern van der Rohe (etc.) skyscrapers is remarkable.

  15. On a totally unrelated note: Oh my gosh thank you for using WordPress. This was the easiest, most straightforward comment I’ve posted all day. Do you too have technical difficulties posting comments on Blogspot blogs as a WordPress user?


Leave a Reply

