mending

By: Lesley

Jan 13 2011

Category: Hamilton, SIGNS

9 Comments

Aperture:f/3.3
Focal Length:4.6mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/59 sec
Camera:DMC-TZ3

Does anyone still have their clothes mended? If you do, then this tailor on James St N in Hamilton is available to help. The inclusion of mending cigarette burn holes certainly shows the sign’s age!

Participating in signs, signs

9 comments on “mending”

  1. sometimes it’s cheaper to get a new one than to bring it to be mended. but that’s nice to know that there is still a place where you can bring your clothing articles to be mended.

  2. A great mean to measure time and life. Over here there still are a few people, like me and my family, making usage of it. Please have a good Thursday.

  3. nice of them to include the graphic of the before and after!

  4. I think if had an item of clothing that’s special in some way, I would have it mended. But I cannot say for sure as I have never had it done. Maybe it’s because I don’t have a lot of very expensive clothes. 🙂

  5. Wow, I haven’t seen a business like that in a very long time, if ever, come to think of it. Moth holes – reminds me of my grandmother’s moth balls, when I was a little girl, 50 years ago…

  6. Invisible mending–how interesting! i didn’t know there is a service like this. i haven’t seen something like this here but i know there are people who know how to reweave holes. they do it manually though. i wonder if this shop has machines for it.

  7. The people that operate tailor shops have a lot of talent. Shoe repair is another trade that is disappearing . Interesting photo.

  8. Lesley: You have some interesting shots that really showcase Ontario. Love the one of the instant ice rink in the front yard! With this year’s weather, we could almost do that in Greensboro, NC.

    What day of the week is your sign meme? As a City Daily Photo site, I really like memes that inspire me to find photos that are Greensboro-specific. Yours might work.

  9. Now I know where to take all my cashmere sweaters if the moths get them. Great sign.


Leave a Reply

