skating in the square

By: Lesley

Dec 21 2010

Category: Toronto

14 Comments

Aperture:f/3.3
Focal Length:4.1mm
ISO:800
Shutter:1/14 sec
Camera:DMC-ZS7

It doesn’t look square, I know, but this is the skating rink (and reflecting pool in warmer weather) in Nathan Phillips Square in front of City Hall [as seen here]. The three arches which support the lights for the skating rink are as iconic as the two towers of city hall. This was completed in 1965 and named after the former mayor of Toronto who served from 1955-62. Skating is free.

Participating in My World Tuesday

14 comments on “skating in the square”

  1. What a great place! Does look like fun! Terrific capture! Hope you have a great week! And a very Merry Christmas!!

    Sylvia

  2. I used to ice skate in a place like that in our downtown What nice colorful lights

  3. Seems as if it has been a role model for many a city. A bit smaller version of it, to be seen in Athens nowadays as well. Please have you all a good Tuesday.

  4. very festive. i would love to watch the skaters.

    http://calrat.blogspot.com

  5. That’s gorgeous!

    Blue’s at Play, merry Christmas!

  6. Nice. Merry Christmas Lesley.

  7. Beautiful My World Tuesday posting

    Merry Christmas and have a nice week,
    Greetings, Bram

    Link to My Word Tuesday post!

    Seen on My World Tuesday

  8. Lots of ice skating rinks posted this week… ’tis the season. I loved ice skating when I was growing up in Finland, but I never went to a rink. The neighbourhood would make space and ice a nearby field or clear off an area of a lake. That was wonderful then… now I prefer the warmth of the tropics. Oh, and the last time I recall ice skating was on the frozen Rideau Canal Skateway in Ottawa, but that is over two decades ago already!

  9. Beautiful skating rink… looks like everyone’s having a merry time. Happy Christmas!

  10. Looks fab at night – when I was there in the daylight the construction mess was a bit overwhelming. I love this rink. Great shot as usual!

  11. Also – New camera? Do you like it? I have been looking at that one.

  12. Oh, this looks such fun! It looks very festive too.


Leave a Reply

