Tews Falls

By: Lesley

Dec 08 2010

Category: Dundas, waterfalls

14 Comments

Aperture:f/3.3
Focal Length:4.1mm
ISO:80
Shutter:1/30 sec
Camera:DMC-ZS7

Tews Falls is the tallest of the waterfalls in Hamilton. It is a 41 metre ribbon falls, which is only 10 metres shorter than Niagara Falls. Much of the gorge was carved out about ten thousand years ago. The rock layers are deposits of mud and other substances from the floors of the ancient seas that once covered this part of the continent. You can find this waterfall as part of the Bruce Trail in Dundas.

Participating in Watery Wednesday

14 comments on “Tews Falls”

  1. Wow! I love this image!! Now I am going to see if I can figure out how to visit Tews Falls myself…

  2. nice drop. beautifully snapped.

  3. spectacular! great composition, too.

  4. I just happen to be in the process of making my own Google map of
    Ontario Water Falls
    . I found all of the information at
    Great Lakes Water Falls
    . I only have few more entries to make. When complete I will make a csv file for my GPS.
    Nice choice for today’s post.

  5. http://annkschin.blogspot.com/2008/11/singapore-bugis-centre.html

    In Sinagpore, I used to take my kids to cool off like you said. I think, this one in Auckland, kids run about during the summer.

    But I like to cool off under your water fall.

  6. ….and such a discovery!! Wow!!

    HARBOR LIGHTS CHRISTMAS PARADE

    My link above for Watery Wednesday. Hope you can stop by for a visit and view. Happy day!!!

  7. Awesome waterfalls captured wonderfully!

  8. Thanks for commenting on my waterfall photo. I like the angle of the shot, though I am afraid of heights:)) Marvelous photo and thanks for sharing.
    Have a wonderful day.

  9. So gorgeous! I don’t know if I could look over the cliff like you though 🙂

  10. Someday I want to check out the waterfalls in Hamilton. I hear there are tons of them there.

  11. […] an 80′,  or 24 metre.  cascade falls that is  a short distance from last week’s post [Tews Falls]. Both falls flow into the Spencer Gorge and are easily accessible. There is a picturesque park for […]


Leave a Reply

