CPR walkway

By: Lesley

Nov 14 2010

Category: bridges, Durham

17 Comments

Aperture:f/3.3
Focal Length:4.6mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/0 sec
Camera:DMC-TZ3

This Canadian Pacific Railway bridge was set to be demolished in 1984 after 76 years of transporting livestock, grain, mail and passengers, until the Durham Heritage  Walkway Committee stepped in and rescued it for the enjoyment of all.

Participating in Sunday Bridges

17 comments on “CPR walkway”

  1. Oh and aren’t we pleased it was rescued… I do enjoy even just seeing it through your capable lens! Is it a pedestrian walkway now?

  2. The wooden struts indeed tell us this bridge is from another era. I’m glad it was preserved.

  3. wonderful old bridge…76 years of service–great structural efficiency for a bridge supported with wood. great shot!

  4. Totally glad for the Walkway Committee! Such a marvelous structure had to be preserved. Nicely photographed.

  5. Glad they didn’t tear it down, it’s absolutely beautiful! I love wooden bridges 😀

  6. A “vintage”bridge, it’s wonderful!
    Hugs and have a nice week ahead,
    Léia

  7. Why is it we always want to destroy history? Good that it has been rescued.

  8. Lucky you, it´s a great bridge to be rescued 🙂
    Have a nice Sunday

  9. So glad they saved it.

    BTW Tall ships don’t sail down the river. They would use the nearby Caledonian canal instead.

  10. Lesley….Thanks for TRYING to see my post. I did check on a different computer here at the house and then I called a friend with a PC and asked her to try….both times we were able to bring up all the shots of the two bridges. I do not have a clue what is happening. When I go to my link on Sunday Bridges, I get through just fine. Oddly, someone else early this morning said there was a problem, but I was able to get through even then. Please try again and see if you can get through. I do not have a clue what is going on….I did inadvertently put in my name as “gene~va~usa” when I am Genie, but that does not appear to be the problem. Thanks for your help. Oh, by the way, I love this shot of the Canadian Pacific Railroad bridge, and am so glad it is not on the demolishment order anymore. G

  11. All wooden supports. They don’t make them like that any more.

  12. That railway has quite the history, as I recall. Nice perspective, too.

    • yes it does. and it was just last week the 125th anniversary of the “last spike” linking the country by rail from Atlantic to Pacific.

  13. I love it when something like an old railway is re-purposed for the enjoyment of the community. Great shot for the bridges day!

  14. I’m glad this wonderful structure was saved! I love the strength in those wooden cross beams and the worn color of the gray wood.

  15. Glad they have rescued it! Destroying this bridge would be a shame.

  16. […] to escape winter, we are returning to the old wooden CPR bridge in Durham that was first posted here for another view. It has been preserved as an Historic Walkway for the enjoyment of all who […]


Leave a comment