Spirit Catcher

By: Lesley

Sep 03 2010

Category: Barrie

13 Comments

Aperture:f/8
Focal Length:5.2mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/250 sec
Camera:DMC-TZ3

The Spirit Catcher opens its wings wide to welcome the sky in Barrie. Built for Expo86 in Vancouver, it was brought to Barrie for the art centre’s first permanent art installation. The Spirit Catcher represents the Aboriginal People of Canada and is influenced by the Aboriginal myth of the Thunderbird and its original location on Canada’s west coast.

Participating in SkyWatch Friday

13 comments on “Spirit Catcher”

  1. Brilliant subject. That’s truly awesome.

  2. I have a spirit catcher (woven) in my home – I like to think it keeps the good energy inside. I hope this metal one does the same for the outside!

  3. what a pretty neat installation. i’m sure this is one of the most photographed in your neck of the woods.

  4. great statue against the sky. Cropped so only the statue shows would be great (in my mind anyway 😉 )

    • I thought of that and I have shots from different angles, but this time I wanted to show the immense size using the buildings as a measure

      thanks for the critique – I really appreciate your thoughts.

  5. Very striking, and a great contrast to the modern architecture all around.

  6. And yes, you’re right – it is VERY quiet now that the Tattoo and Festival and Fringe have ended!

  7. I love this photo! And I do remember the scupture being here in Vancouver…lovely to see it in its new home…

  8. What a great photo of an interesting piece of Art! Thank you for stopping by my blog!

  9. What a stunning sculpture and a beautiful way to view the sky.

    Thanks for your visit and comment on my sky view post. Wishing you an enjoyable weekend. =)


Leave a Reply

