brutally beautiful

By: Lesley

Aug 10 2010

Category: Brantford

14 Comments

Aperture:f/3.3
Focal Length:4.6mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/1299 sec
Camera:DMC-TZ3

Built in 1967 as a Centennial project, the City Hall and Courts of Justice in Brantford are an outstanding example of Brutalism style of architecture.

Participating in My World Tuesday

14 comments on “brutally beautiful”

  1. Brutalism it is! And your terrific photo really points out exactly what you mean! Hope your week is off to a good start! Enjoy!

    Sylvia

  2. i didn’t know much about Brutalism in architecture.:p but we have similar buildings here built in the 70’s by now a national artist. it looks like a bunker.:p

  3. Love yr title! What a beautiful day it was to be out taking photos. A nice pic.

  4. Very nice photo from this building

    Regards, Bram

    Seen on My World Tuesday

  5. Lesley: Very nicely captured and explained.

  6. I agree! It is not an elegant building nor does it look inviting. Perhaps that was their plan because it is also a court of justice. The building looks like shouting: keep out…keep out…keep out!

  7. It certainly is impressive. It looks like a fortress to stand for all time.

  8. I can’t wait to ask my husband if he’s heard that term — I hadn’t, but it does describe the architectural style perfectly. What a good angle — I look at it and think “wow I don’t know anything about photography!”. Thanks for sharing yours.

  9. All different shapes resembling a child’s set of building blocks. A very substantial looking building. Great photo!

  10. Very stark and similar in a way to some city buildings where I live which were built around the same time. I’ll have to read about brutalism. I wasn’t familiar with that style of architecture.

  11. I’ve never heard of this style. Definately aptly named and actually really fascinating looking. Sort of the architectural equivalent of a Rodin sculpture (massive)!

  12. It does look like a tank.

  13. The grey concrete of a typical 60’s building, I find them fascinating to photograph. I like the interesting shapes in this building, more interesting than the usual square style of that era.

  14. I confess that I know very little about the Brutalism style. I’m just about ready to start my education by Googling Brutalism. I wonder what I’ll find.


Leave a Reply

